2016 Technology Woman of the Year2017-03-03T14:50:56+00:00

2016 Technology Woman of the Year

Thursday, April 21, 2016 | 7:30 am – 10:00 am | Casa Larga Vineyards

Reaching Your Goals: The Keys are Passion, Determination, and Persistence

 Register Here

About the Award

This award is designed to recognize, celebrate, and make visible the achievements of women in high technology fields. Through this award, women who work in these professions are encouraged to stay in the Greater Rochester area, mentor young women, and contribute to the economic growth of the region.

The Nominees

Michelle Arbore, Owner, Savvy Social Media

Margaret Bailey, Senior Faculty Associate to the Provost for ADVANCE/Principal Investigator & Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology

Kate Bennett, President, Rochester Museum & Science Center

Susan Bernegger, Project Manager, Test Engineering, Communications Systems, Harris Corporation

Mary Pat Cottengim, Human Factors & Usability Lead, Ortho Clinical Diagnostics

Stephanie Dickman, Vice President, Strategy and Business Development, Space and Intelligence Systems, Harris Corporation

Cynthia Gordon, Director of Telemedicine, Rochester Regional Health

Pamela Gratzer, President/CEO, Mindware Connections Inc.

Marie Kraus, Technology Education Teacher, Fairport School District; Martha Brown and Fairport High Schools

Karen Kuppinger, Chief Information Officer, Nazareth College

Donna Lange, Associate Professor & Director of DeafTEC, Rochester Institute of Technology/National Technical Institute for the Deaf

Amy Perry-DelCorvo, CEO/Executive Director, NYS Computers and Technology Educators

Ewa Pigna, Engineering Leader, United Technologies

Lana Verschage, Director of Women in Computing, Rochester Institute of Technology

Keynote Speaker: Jill S. Tietjen, P.E.

Jill Tietjen 01

President and CEO, Technically Speaking, Inc.

Keynote Topic: Reaching Your Goals! The Keys are Passion, Determination and Persistence

An electrical engineer with 40 years of experience in the electric utility industry, Jill S. Tietjen, P.E., provides planning consulting services and serves as an expert witness. An author, speaker and electrical engineer, she served as the CEO of the National Women’s Hall of Fame in 2015. Tietjen is currently an independent director on two corporate boards – Georgia Transmission Corporation and Merrick & Company (of which she is Vice Chair). A Past National President of the Society of Women Engineers, Jill nominates women for national awards including induction into the National Women’s Hall of Fame and the National Inventor’s Hall of Fame. She has been to the White House twice to see her nominees receive the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. Jill is the co-author of the bestselling and award winning book Her Story: A Timeline of the Women Who Changed America and passionate about informing the public about women’s accomplishments. The recipient of many honors, in 2010, she was inducted into the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame. Jill graduated from the University of Virginia with a B.S. in Applied Mathematics (minor – Electrical Engineering), received her M.B.A. from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and is a registered professional engineer in Colorado.

 Thank you to TWY event sponsor Entre Computer Services



Platinum Sponsor



Superior Group logo________________________________________________

Gold Sponsor

Roberts School of Bus


Silver Sponsor

Tech Startup Expo


In-Kind Sponsor

4cpcompanytitleCheshire Poweringrbj_125x125.fw

Creative Images, EPi Printing & Finishing, HHdesigns


Student Sponsor


Past Recipients

Sandra Roberts
Senior VP & CIO
Canandaigua National Bank & Trust

Anne Bell
VP Global Services and Applications
Xerox Corporation

Amy Carey
Director of Customer Service

Jennifer Kruschwitz
Principal Engineer
JK Consulting

Victoria Van Voorhis
Founder and CEO
Second Avenue Software, Inc.

Jeanne Casares
Chief Information Officer
Rochester Institute of Technology

Mary Piehler
VP of Sales
ServerWare Corp

Sharon Martinez
Director of Web Technology
University of Rochester

Christine Scheible
Quantum Technology Associates

Kathryn Angelidis
Senior IT Analyst
Paychex, Inc.

Sue Chichester
Computing & Information Technology
SUNY Geneseo

Karen Benjamin
VP and Upstate NY Director

Eydie Lawson
Professor and Chair, Department of Information Technology

Juli Klie
President and Managing Partner
Veritor Executive Advisors

Barbara Kunkel
IT Director
Nixon Peabody LLP

Award given in honor of all women in IT